No Babies Here, Sorry.

Me: “I have something to tell you.”
Friend: “You’re pregnant.”
Me: “No, I was going to tell you I’m finally starting a blog.”

Apparently, my ticking timebomb, aka baby maker hasn’t only been on my newlywed mind.

I want to preface this post with the fact that I LOVE kids. In fact, I was a nannie for a family of 3 children for nearly 6 years. I loved them and played with them like my own. My friends, the loves of my life, nearly all have kids. I love being an Auntie to them all and couldn’t be happier for them.

But, am I ready? Will I ever be ready? I take an hour to order a burrito, reinforcing all the things I really don’t want. Then again, I’ve been told you’re never ready. Never stable enough financially or 100% emotionally ready.

As enticing as voluntarily accepting more insecurities into my life seems, should I feel somewhere deep down I will want, at some point, children? Or will my 30th come and I’ll feel the same way I do now — impartial.

I recently read an article that talked about a woman’s biological clock. It said, “Until the age of 25 lifestyle factors such as smoking or alcohol have little effect on a woman’s fertility.”

Great, Mother Nature. So what you’re saying is that while I was young, stupid and completely immature that would have been the “safest” time to bring a life into this world? Sorry, but I was acting like an idiot until about three years ago. A kid, pushing a stroller, brushing off last night’s hangover isn’t the perfect mother I imagine now. But, if I wait until I’m eating meals from a stove and not a drive-thru, my fertility rate drops immensely and I will have to give up wine? Being a woman really blows sometimes. We literally carry all of the responsibility.

Right now, my husband and I love being selfish. Love being able to be adventurous. Love being free and alone. I am not closing the possibility of a child, but I am not ready now. So, sorry. You can quit giving me those disappointed looks when I tell you now. And asking “Ever? Never?” isn’t helping.

When it happens, if it happens, it will be right.

xoxo

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Team Oyeniyi
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 07:59:12

    “Then again, I’ve been told you’re never ready. Never stable enough financially or 100% emotionally ready.”

    True! But surprisingly, when it happens and catches you totally unawares – guess what? You’ll miraculously be ready!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 17:48:19

    When you leave this world, the only “wordly possesions” you will leave behind are your children…and hopefully they will make it a little better, one kid at a time.

    Reply

  3. Team Oyeniyi
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 21:47:12

    You are welcome! Thanks for dropping by. I’ve had a rough night and am heaing off to work. I will read more of your work tonight.

    Reply

  4. Tatum
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 15:45:15

    First off, love the title of your blog, second, welcome to blogland!!! O.k. I enjoyed this post and I totally feel you. For so long Chris and I were like we’re good, we don’t necessarily have to have kids, we love our life, but we LOVE kids and spend so much time with the ones in our family. I too wondered will something hit me, will I suddenly know that I am “ready” for kids? I asked several people how they knew, some felt it and some didn’t, some just slipped up and got pregnant.

    The day that I first felt that I think I might actually want a baby I actually blogged about it. It was really a feeling! And a bit bizarre lol. You can read it here: http://manymomentsofme.blogspot.com/search/label/Ducklings

    I say enjoy your life, take your time and tell people to get out of your business!

    Miss you girl!

    Reply

  5. Ursula
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 20:24:10

    The only sanity I find in this world today is in the eyes of my grandchildren!
    Nothing is as wonderful as holding that little hand and knowing that your love continues on forever………..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

